Batanes Islands

Batanes province is beautiful, even those who’ve never been there. Our idea of the place has been shaped by popular images of steep, picturesque cliffs meeting the pounding surf.

The Batanes island group is the smallest province in the Philippines in terms of population and land area. The capital of Batanes, Basco is 280 kilometers north of Apari, Cagayan.  Batanes consist of 10 tiny islands of which only the islands of Batan, Sabtang, and Itbayat are inhabited.